Porridge Powers

Breakfast, Recipes

The fact that I hate getting up earlier than absolutely necessary and my need for a good, filling breakfast is a constant conflict of my weekdays. There was a time when I bought a warm chocolate croissant on my way to class everyday but that situation was neither very economic nor did the croissant fill me up for more than an hour. It was in fact May who introduced me to the delicious-ness that is a homemade porridge and I want to share my perfect “recipe” and porridge combinations in this post.

Making porridge is very much a question of your own preferences- pinhead or rolled oats? Moist or dry texture? Sweet or savory flavour?

Because the actual process of making porridge is so easy and making a recipe-post for porridge is slightly ridiculous, this post is more a source of inspiration with my 3 favorite porridge combination than anything else.

Basic Ingredients (1 person):

  • 60-70 gr oats (pinhead or rolled, I only use rolled)
  • 250-300 ml liquid: soy milk/ nut milk/ milk/ coconut milk (I use a 2/3 soy milk 1/3 water mix, because 100% milk makes it too creamy for me)
  • pinch of salt
  • sweetener: honey, brown sugar, agave nectar, maple syrup (I do not use a sweetener because the soy milk I use as a liquid is sweet)
  • spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger etc. (I PACK mine with cinnamon, so good!)

1.Mix the oats and the liquid in a pot and let it cook on medium heat. Stir often for about 5-10 min. and take it off the stove as soon as it has your preferred texture.

2. Stir in the pinch of salt and your optional sweetener and spices.

Let´s move on to the interesting part: toppings 🙂 You can top your porridge with anything you like but my personal favorites are the following:

  1. Chocolate porridge    Stir in a spoon or two of pure cocoa and I recommend a sweetener with this one, like honey. Top with sweet fruit like banana or Shari/ Kaki.

2. Milchreis/ Rice pudding   “Milchreis” is a German childhood favorite, it is very sweet, creamy white rice that you commonly eat with applesauce and cinnamon- soo good. The porridge version is much healthier but tastes almost the same, I couldn´t believe it the first time I had it. Mix a good amount of cinnamon in you porridge, cut up apples and top with applesauce- there you go.

3. Nutty Blueberry     This is just as delicious as it is simple. Cut up a banana, crumble up some walnuts in your hands and finally top with a looot of blueberries. Yum!

Leave a Reply

