Liquid breakfast: Refreshing green shakes

Breakfast, Recipes

Good Morning everybody!

Before I can tell you about the incredible boost that you get from a green smoothie for breakfast I have to explain why I needed one so much this morning. Yesterday I went hiking in the woods outside of Berlin. In Grunewald you can climb up a hill and look down on kilometres of dark green forest. Hidden between the trees there’s a small lake in which you can refresh yourself after a long hike (so far so healthy).

The smell of the pines reminded me so much of the thousand times I went hiking with my grandparents. In this spirit me and my boyfriend went to a traditional German restaurant. They served us two gigantic (and lip-smacking) portions of fried potatoes, one creamy chanterelle soup, a pickled white hering in a gurkin-cream sauce, the obligatory Sauerkraut (pickled cabbage), a filet of pike-perch and two pints of white beer. Right. And after an hour of eating when we already thought we couldn’t move anymore we were still so tempted by the desert menu that we shared an apple strudel with vanilla sauce (This one I don’t regret).

When I woke up this morning I still felt stuffed by all of this and so I decided it was time for a boost of pure vegetable power: Liquid breakfast! The recipe is also great when you’re hung-over or on any other occasion that demands for an invigorating start of the day.

Refreshing Green Smoothie

 

Basic Ingredients (for two portions):

  • 1-2 bananas
  • two hands full of leavy greens, e.g. spinach & lamb’s lettuce
  • cool green tea or mint tea (you can best prepare it in the evening or put it in the freezer for five minutes)
    ice cubes

Optional:

  • Strawberries;
  • Alfalfa sprouts;

Instructions:

  1. Wash the greens
  2. Put everything in the blender and blend for 3-5 minutes
  3. Pour the mix into glasses and sprinkle some leaves or sprouts ontop
  4. Enjoy!

Tip: With these smoothies you can literally go wild. The main ingredients are the bananas for the sweetness and the greens for the refreshing taste. Try adding a little lettuce or cucumber to make the shake even healthier, experiment with ginger to add a little sharpness, some avocado for a creamier taste or put in frozen blue berries or mango to add some sweetness (attention: any red ingredients will give the shake a mud color). When I want the shake to be a little more nourishing I like to add a two tablespoons of oatmeal or linseeds

Leave a Reply

