Brunchtime: American Pancakes and a simple fruitsalad

Breakfast, Recipes

 

Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and to arrange big, extravagant brunches is something I love to do. So for my birthday last week I decided to prepare an American brunch with fluffy pancakes, thick smoothies& fresh fruit salad

 I often make pancakes but usually stick to the french Crêpe-type – thin and flat. My attempts at American pancakes never quiet satisfied me but this one was spot-on and easy, so I will share it. It is based on an original American recipe so some of the measurements are in cups. I do not own measuring jugs myself and simply used a medium-sized coffee mug.

 

15-20 American pancakes

  • 4 cups of flour
  • 4 tbs. sugar
  • a package of baking powder
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 cups of milk
  • ½ cup oil (I used neutral vegetable oil)

tbs.= tablespoon; tsp.= teaspoon

Instructions:

  1. Mix the dry ingredients
  2. Mix the wet ingredrients
  3. Pour the wet over the dry ingredients and stir them until there are no clumps
  4. Heat up a pan and fry the pancake in oil, 2 spoons of dough make one pancake

Fruitsalad (serves 6)

  • 2 fresh figs
  • 4 peaches
  • 2 bananas
  • a handful of walnuts

 

Instructions:

Obviously you can vary on the ratio here. I had small peaches so I used more of them.  You can chop the walnuts but I prefer to just crumble them up with my hands and sprinkle them on top.

Serve the pancakes and the fruitsalad traditionally with maple syrup. We had yoghurt as well, which was delicious and fresh. Alternatives include applesauce, cinnamon, chocolate sauce or Nutella, any type of fruit, bacon, the options are endless (one of the many perks of pancakes 🙂 )

Enjoy your feast! Frieda

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

